Restless

April 7, 2012

Holy Week Observations

Filed under: Uncategorized — rvchua @ 3:59 am

Gone are the days where everything is dead during Holy Week. I really hated it when my birthday happens to be Good Friday also.

On Holy Thursday, I was at the office from morning to noon. The next day (Good Friday), I stayed at my brother’s house. On my way to St. Dominic’s, I saw that a lot of stores were open from sari-sari stores, bakeries, talipapas, roasted chicken stalls, etc. I even saw a barber shop open at night! I was even surprised to see that Jollibee was open and it was packed including the outdoor tables.

Yesterday, I probably ate more than I usually do in a normal day. Now that it is Black Saturday, I am back to my normal breakfast (low fat milk and choco rolls). In the grocery, I saw people buying junk food in several large bags. I think the concept of fasting and contemplation during Holy Week has been lost.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

