Restless

May 26, 2012

The End of the Book Diaspora

Filed under: Books — rvchua @ 1:32 am

I hauled this pile of books last week to the second hand shop. I lugged it from the house to the multicab terminal on foot even though it weighed a ton. Things would have been easier if I just took a taxi but I wanted to prove that I was strong enough to carry something heavy as that.

Most of the books in the pile were those that my Mom bought. The others are the last books that I wanted to dispose. I will no longer need to haul a large pile of books every time I return from a vacation in Iligan. I will also have to close my bookmooch account, my bookshelf there is empty. I want to give to my niece my Anne of Green Gables books, maybe in a couple of years when she is ready to read novels. I may want to get rid of a title or two later on to reflect my changing tastes. I don’t intend to get rid of my Jane Austen, Agatha Christie, Josephine Tey, Ursula Le Guin and Diana Wynne Jones.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

