Restless

August 4, 2012

A Couple of Hours In the Gym

Filed under: Health — rvchua @ 9:49 am

Yesterday a couple of office mates were selling soon-to-expire vouchers (P100) for a whole day use of gym services at the Cebu Holiday Gym and Spa in Banilad. I wasn’t that interested until I saw that they were offering Pilates and yoga this morning. Since the gym was quite far away and the Pilates class was supposed to start at 8AM, I needed to wake up early. I was up at 5:30 AM (actually I woke up an hour earlier since I had a nightmare) and left the house by 6. I had a corned beef pandesal and coffee at Jollibee, I needed energy before heading to the gym. I arrived at Ayala around 7:15AM so I decided to walk to the gym instead of catching a jeepney ride, it was only a 15-minute walk away.

I just presented the voucher and ID to the receptionist and she handed me a locker key. Unfortunately there was no one to show me around. Since there was a real functioning weighing scale (the one in the clinic at work seems dodgy), I finally know my real weight and I need to lose 10 lbs! It was still early, so I spent 30 minutes taking a brisk walk on the treadmill. I noticed that new people were arriving and going to the a separate workout room. I went to the main door and read the schedule but was disappointed to learn that there were no Pilates or yoga today. It was zumba whole day! A total disappointment.

Since I had plenty of time before Ayala would open, I tried out some exercise machines and dumbells. I realized that I have no strength at all. I also lasted only 5 minutes on the elliptical, I was breathing heavily then and my knee joints started to ache. One thing I realized is that I love taking brisk walks on the treadmill, I can just zone off and not worry about traffic and pollution. Overall, I was in the treadmill for 1.25 hours.

I looked at the people at the gym and could only find a handful of people who need to lose weight. Most of the people there looked like they frequent the gym. Darn, I looked flabby in every mirror I looked. I wasn’t into the gym’s vibe, I found it crowded (a lot of equipment in a small space) and noisy (fast music was blaring in the background). I would rather stick to my walks than a go to the gym, less expensive that way.

2 Comments »

  1. really nice blog, very informative. thanks dude for wonderful posting. keep it up in the future as well. lista de email lista de email lista de email lista de email lista de email

    Comment by lista de email — August 12, 2012 @ 3:13 pm

  2. thank you for sharing some knowledge. i really appreciate it. lista de emails lista de emails lista de emails lista de emails lista de emails

    Comment by lista de emails — August 13, 2012 @ 6:18 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

