Restless

September 14, 2012

Stale Teas

Filed under: Food — rvchua @ 10:32 am

I asked my mother what tea she was using at home and she said Lipton green tea, which is what I am currently drinking. I wondered if they had used up the teas that I saw at home but my mother said it is still there, one of which is green tea that I got from Japan. So it seems that they have teas that are 12 to 5 years old, I think all of them are opened. I don’t think my mother realized that teas can get stale, I told her to get rid of it. I looked up in the internet and read that teas should be disposed 1-2 years after opening, green teas are the ones that easily grow stale. On Lipton boxes, they even put expiry dates.

I have a small air tight packet of tie guan yin tea (a type of oolong tea) that I would like to use this December, I think I got this a couple of years ago but I cannot use it because I don’t have anything to use for brewing loose leaf tea. Since this is still unopened, I am hoping it will still have some flavor.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

