Restless

February 27, 2013

Gym Updates

Filed under: Health — rvchua @ 11:49 am

Last week due to late meetings in the evening, I tried going to the gym early in the morning instead. I have read a lot of articles that exercising in the morning is better but going to the gym before heading to work during weekdays is not cutting out for me. I have to get up early, squeeze in everything in 2 hours (which means only 30 mins on the treadmill), run like hell after yoga class, praying that I get in the office by 8:59 AM. If I cannot meet the E10 shift so I have to wait for the next one which means I can only leave the office at 7:51 PM instead of 6:36 PM. Morning exercise is doable during weekends since I would have time to rest afterwards. If I do it during weekdays, the long work hours afterwards will take its toll. I was supposed to go to the gym last Friday morning but I was too tired from the day before, it did not help that it was raining also.

I was also planning to join the World Yoga Day on February 24 at the Waterfront Lahug Hotel (11 AM to 1 PM) but again I was tired from Saturday’s workout. In yoga class, I was shaking during some poses. By Sunday, my upper arms were hurting and I was already feeling some PMS cramps. I was also a bit intimidated by the activity since most attendees would probably be serious yoga practitioners. Also I didn’t want to bring my cheap mat since I find it slippery.

This week I am trying to go back to my normal Mon/Tues/Thurs/Sat schedule. However the rerouting traffic which started yesterday has made it much longer than usual to go to Mandaue. I was lucky yesterday (the driver was aggressive) so instead of my usual 30 min travel it only became 1 hour. Other colleagues told me they were held up at the new bridge for almost two hours! I am dreading this afternoon’s travel. An option would be to walk at the old bridge but that would mean a walk of 2.6 km. I would be able to save 30 mins on the treadmill but I would smell like engine fumes and sweat, a bad combination.

I only have 16 gym sessions left. After that I will avail a voucher for 1 month unlimited sessions. The voucher costs P1,485 so if I do my usual 4x a week visit, I could maximize the cost per session. However the voucher will expire by April 29 so I need to use it before March 29. By end of April, I don’t know what to do. There are no current promos nor can I use another voucher.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

