Restless

August 14, 2013

Unintentional Excess

Filed under: Minimalism / Simplicity — rvchua @ 12:24 am

A few months ago I was using Dove Go Fresh Deodorant in Cucumber and Green Tea. At that time I saw the ads for Dove Pure Deodorant, I was excited to buy it since it had no parabens, no alcohol and no scent. When my Go Fresh was almost used up I bought the Pure roll-on and started using it. However after a few days, I noticed that I was smelling a bit funky especially during workouts. Since I had always a problem with natural deodorants before I thought Pure was not effective. So I bought Rexona (20 ml) to use on days when I went to the gym. A few days later I went back to Pure and found that my body has adjusted to it so I continued using it and set aside the Rexona one.

A couple of Fridays ago (it was a holiday), I woke up at 4:30 AM to go to the gym. It was raining and I did not prepare my things the night before so I was a bit muddled and rushed. When I was riding the multicab, I suddenly realized that I probably wasn’t wearing deodorant, I discreetly checked inside my armpits and confirmed it to be true. I certainly wasn’t going to the gym without any deodorant, it would be a disaster. Before having breakfast I stopped at the 7-11 but was disappointed to see only one deodorant for women (Rexona 20ml), the others were all for men, I don’t know why. I was hoping to find a mini-roll on good for a few uses or the one in sachet but there was none, also the Rexona deodorant was overpriced. But I did not have a choice so I bought it reluctantly.

Now I have 4 deodorants on hand. I have the Go Fresh in the office but I should use that up so I can throw it away, it is probably only good for a few uses. At home I have Pure, Rexona#1 & Rexona#2. Having all of these versions of one item is driving my minimalist mind crazy. I am the kind of person who prefers to own just one version of a thing, especially with toiletries. So now I am trying to use all of it up and go back to Pure as my normal deodorant. Also, I am trying to organize my things the night before I go to the gym so I don’t miss out anything. I don’t want to be in this situation again.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

