Restless

December 11, 2013

Wheel Pose

Filed under: Yoga — rvchua @ 12:50 am

hp_219_Urdhva_248In every yoga class, there is one pose that I always have ambivalent feelings, I can do it but I don’t particularly like it. It is the wheel pose (Urdhva Dhanurasana). I don’t exactly know how I look doing the pose. I probably don’t do it well because I am not flexible, I struggle with backbends. I use brute force of my upper hands to pull myself up and stay there for 5 breaths. There are times that I cannot do it when my biceps are hurting or when I don’t have that much energy.

Here is a Mind Body Green article (http://www.mindbodygreen.com/0-11915/5-reasons-everyone-should-do-wheel-pose.html) that lists down 5 reasons to do the wheel pose. I know the pose is good for flexibility and strength but I did not know that it is good for the lungs nor that every muscle of your muscle is activated when you go into the pose. So this means I need to put my mind and never say no when we do the wheel pose.

Phote from Yoga Journal.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

