Restless

January 3, 2014

Yoga in 2014

Filed under: Yoga — rvchua @ 2:39 am

12 days off from yoga was a big setback for me. Last night was my first yoga class of the year. Although Jaya called it an easy class, I was struggling with everything including my favorite plow pose. There was a point wherein we moved from bow pose to uttanasa and I suddenly couldn’t bend forward. My back was too stiff, unused muscles were complaining. Earlier I was planning to skip savasana to meet someone for coffee but at the end of the class I took the 5 minutes to recover and enjoy the balm applied at my temples and throat. The rest of the night I continued to feel the aches of my body and I even applied liniment before I went to bed. Today I was planning to do yoga but my body has not recovered. If I push it, I will probably regret it in the next couple of days. So I am taking it slow and hope that tomorrow I can do better.

Lately I have been reading and hearing a lot about the Cebu yoga scene. It seems that there are hard core yogis out there who do 108 sun salutations, practice handstands like crazy, do a 120-minute intense practice and do yoga for 21 days straight. I am in awe of them. I want to be like them. But how do I improve my practice? I have been doing yoga for more than a year and I know I am stuck. I want to do more inversions and arm balances. Some poses I still do the easy version especially when my knees start to wobble. There are times when I am struggling with a 60-minute class. I asked someone what should I do to go to the next level, then he rattled off about pranayama, bandha, drishti, mudra. And the only word that popped into my mind was “crap”. I am miles away from all of that. I know if I stay at Gold’s Gym for yoga, I wouldn’t improve but I don’t have any other option that is nearer. Yoga Hub is just a short ride from Gold’s Gym but when traffic happens it becomes horrible. Besides my schedule is not flexible where I can just pop there anytime, I do have to work and feed myself.

Much as I want to be like them, I can’t be. I am not strong enough, I am not rich enough, I don’t have enough time, I don’t move in the same exalted circles as they do. So I make my own practice, I make my own goals, I make my own rules.

– Yoga 5x a week (barring national disasters, holidays and illness)

– Take classes at Yoga Hub and Surya Nanda at least 2x a month

– Ashtanga classes at 1-2x a month

Will there be an improvement? I don’t know. I will let you know in 3 months.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

