Restless

March 10, 2014

Restorative Yoga at Dragonfly Yoga Studio

Filed under: Yoga — rvchua @ 12:42 am

After my session with the chiropractor last Monday, I diligently monitored the condition of my back. There was no more pain but the stiffness was still there. By the end of the week, I was determined to go back to yoga but I did not want to join a regular class. So I scheduled for a one-on-one 10AM Restorative Yoga with Jeanne at her Dragonfly Yoga Studio at Beverly Hills, Lahug.

I woke up early on Sunday, a few minutes before the alarm went off. I had to wake up early since I needed to pick my yoga mat at the office, it has been sitting there unused for 2 weeks. I had plenty of time to have breakfast (at three different places!) and read 1Q84 (still have 300 pages left at this moment!). Around 9:20AM, I took a cab from Ayala to Dragonfly.

Jeanne suggested that we follow Bikram’s 26 poses which I only knew was developed as a result of Bikram’s injuries. But before starting that, we did a few sun salutations, it had to be modified for my problem. Uttanasana was a no-no, I could only do a very low cobra and all I could manage was a puppy dog. The 26 poses had to modified also, some were even skipped and others were done with pillows. I was doing yoga at one-fourth my usual speed but I was sweating since I had not done any exercise for two weeks and some poses I had to be careful not to go too deep, I had to be constantly aware of how my back felt. I was amazed that I could still do a locust and bow pose since these are considered back bends. At the end of the 26 poses, I even managed to do a half-lotus. We did a few minutes meditation wherein I was easily distracted no matter how serene the place was.

I talked with Jeanne before she dropped me off at Ayala. The whole session uplifted my mood and made me realize that I still have a long way to go before I can go back to my regular practice. Even if I have a down time of 1 month and as long as I come back healthy, I would not forfeit my YogaHub and Gold’s Gym sessions. When I finally arrived home, I immediately fell asleep for 3.5 hours. It felt good, there was still some stiffness but I felt better. I wish YogaHub and other studios would offer restorative yoga. Now, what are my next steps?

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

