Restless

April 18, 2014

Apprehensions for the Future

Filed under: Travel, Yoga — rvchua @ 2:31 am

I have several apprehensions with this new job that I am given. I don’t know how MMC will feel having a female foreigner as a PM and on top of that cannot speak Japanese. I am told that I would have the translation support of the Sales Manager and the Resident Engineer but I doubt that. Also having reviewed the pending tasks left behind, I don’t see the need of being here for a full year. If these will be my only tasks then I would be bored unless a major issue suddenly comes up. If I will be PM and TPL at the same time, I expect to have problems since there are many upcoming changes for Nissan. I tried doing my TPL job over here the other day and it was difficult to be not in the same place as the engineers. I want to suggest doing an occasional business trip here if there are issues or problems but I don’t know how Japan management will feel about that. 

Personally I don’t want to spend one year in Japan since I am here for work not leisure. It will be a new job and new environment so it will be a big adjustment for me. I don’t want to be considered a failure but it can happen. In the outside I won’t care if it happens but deep inside it would bother me. Also the place where I will be assigned is boring, there isn’t much here except houses, buildings and cars. Nothing interesting to look at unless I go to Nagoya during the weekends which also means additional expense. My salary (in peso) will be the same and I will have a sort of allowance here in Japan, which probably would not be much. The one thing I will miss is yoga. I won’t have the chance to have a real practice here since I don’t know if there is a studio in the immediate area. Right now I don’t have the discipline to have a self practice but I may have to force myself to do it. 

So everything is out in the open. I don’t know what will be the decision or what I will be doing in the upcoming weeks. I am taking it one day at a time and try to find some happiness in the moment.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

