Restless

February 9, 2015

Goodbye to Gold’s Gym (September 2012 to February 2015)

Filed under: Health, Yoga — rvchua @ 2:16 am

After 2.5 years, I finally bid farewell to Gold’s Gym. If I am right I must have logged more than 350 yoga classes through that period. Though it has become a sort of comfortable second home to me, it is time to move on. First, I have my YogaHub membership (free) which is valid until October 2015. Second, newly opened Yoga Tree Studio Mactan is less than a 15-minute jeepney ride from the office.

Through the years I have enjoyed the advantages and endured the disadvantages the gym had to offer:

Advantages:

  • Inexpensive via the 144 visits membership.
  • Clean bathrooms, lockers and changing areas.
  • 7AM class is early enough that afterwards I can be at the office by 9AM.
  • One ride away from home/office.
  • Teachers are some of the best in Cebu.
  • I don’t need to bring my own mat.
  • Free wifi (fast!) in the lobby.

Disadvantages:

  • Traffic is sometimes horrible. Once it took me an hour instead of the usual 30 minutes.
  • Limited yoga classes, only 1 class in the evening. Need to adjust my schedule according to the classes available.

Before I start going to YogaHub regularly (is 5x/week possible?), I am taking a short hiatus away from yoga, away from work, away from what is familiar.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

