Restless

March 9, 2015

Wrist Pain and Other Yogic Insights

Filed under: Yoga — rvchua @ 1:10 am

After suffering from wrist pain, I was hesitant taking just any yoga class. Last Tuesday the yoga teacher asked if anyone had any injury but hardly glanced at me when I tried to raise my hand. It was my first class with that teacher and I was busy concentrating on my modifications so I was able to zone out her cheesy playlist. The important thing was that I managed to finish the class with minimal wrist pain. Last week I was able to do 3 classes so I am ready to go back to a full schedule but will be protecting my right wrist as much as possible.

Last week I planned to do 3 weekday classes but in the end I was only able to do 2 since I kept having unproductive late afternoon meetings. I managed to join the 5:30PM class on Tuesday only because I skipped a meeting. That day my back was acting up and my wrist was starting to throb, I just needed to be far away from the office and the negativity. I tried to attend a class on Thursday but it was simply not possible. The weekend was completely different. There was no traffic, I was not in a hurry, I was able to enjoy my leisurely breakfast and people watch, I didn’t have any agenda except for yoga. I felt so peaceful after the turmoil of the workweek. On Saturday I managed even to snooze on the YogaHub couch while waiting for my early morning Ashtanga class. So this is the new game plan: maximize as much yoga on the weekends and take any opportunity to do yoga on weekdays.

On Wednesday, I accompanied Clarice to Yoga Tree Mactan Studio. The best advantage of that studio is how near it is to my home and office. But when the class doesn’t start on time and then runs over, it starts to get on my nerves. Also I need to hold in my pee until I reach home and there is still no real changing room. I won’t be worrying about those things for the moment since I hardly go there.

For the past 3 months I have a weekly Ashtanga practice with Jeanne. During this time I have learned to appreciate this type yoga which is known for being regimented, OC and strenuous. Ashtanga may be longer and have more postures and vinyasas but you appreciate the opportunities to rest during the standing and seated postures. Since you know what is going to follow, you know how to pace yourself so that you can always finish the class. It is only now with wrist pain that I have to discovered one of the purpose of padahastasana after doing 5 Surya As and 5 Surya Bs. I am still a long way of doing all the postures of the primary series, will a Mysore practice help?

After 1.5 years, I have learned to love hot yoga. I remember my first class in 2013 where I ended up with a beet red face and dripping in sweat. Now I don’t have a red face but instead my face looks brighter and clearer than usual. In a normal class I sweat a lot but in hot yoga I am not the only one so I don’t feel weird, actually people look at you differently if you don’t sweat. Now I am joining Jason’s hot yoga class every Sunday.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

