Restless

April 15, 2015

What Is The Deal With Book Trilogies and Series?

During the Holy Week, I breezed through Veronica Rossi’s Under the Never Sky and Through the Ever Night. Then around 50 pages into the third book Into the Still Blue, I lost interest and decided to quit. Yesterday I finished Leigh Bardugo’s Shadow and Bone. I liked the 1800s Russian inspired world but I found the story predictable. Haven’t I read something like it before (Trudi Canavan’s The Black Magician trilogy)? Also, Darkling has to be the lamest name for a villain! I didn’t understand why black is the associated color to only the Darkling. If you live in a dreary world, wouldn’t black and grey be the dominant colors? I know it is a YA novel but again I found it too simplistic. I just wanted to finish the book and forget the rest of the books even a lot of people are raving about the series.

Late last year, I read the first three books of Marissa Meyer’s The Lunar Chronicles. Although the series is YA, the world building is unique and complex and some of the characters are interesting enough that I want to read the final novel Winter which is set to release in November 2015. Another YA book that showed promise was Laini Taylor’s Daughter of Smoke and Bone. I have the other 2 books of the trilogy (Days of Blood and Starlight and Dreams of Gods and Monsters) but I don’t know when I plan to read it and when I do I need to do it back-to-back.

As for the last book of Deborah Harkness All Soul’s Trilogy, I am not sure if I will ever read it (unless I am really bored). I read the last book two years ago and I have probably forgotten a lot of the details except that Matthew and Diana are in the past but I don’t recall why. This is my frustration with trilogies and series, the next novel takes a while (sometimes several years) for to be released that sometimes you need to read again the last one or read a synopsis in Wikipedia. As for Patrick Rothfuss’ The Kingkiller Chronicles, I read the first book 1.5 years ago and I have the second book but the last book is still being written. Again the first book was really interesting although I hated Denna. I need to remember what happened (which is a lot) in the first one before I pick up the second one.

As for A Song of Ice and Fire, thankfully I can refer to the tv series although this season it has started to deviate a whole lot from the books. I am definitely going to read The Winds of Winter and A Dream of Spring if George R.R. Martin will ever finish the series. If not, the tv series will have their own ending.

To sum up, I would prefer not to read trilogies or series unless all the books have been released. I don’t understand why a lot of YA books need to be a trilogy when George R.R. Martin managed to squeeze a lot of details and more characters than we can track in the first novel A Game of Thrones. I would prefer to read novels in a series that are standalone, no need to wait for the next book to be satisfied with the story.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

