Restless

July 31, 2015

Books I Have Read (July 2015)

Filed under: Books — Tags: — rvchua @ 12:19 am

1. Royal Assassin by Robin Hobb – I enjoyed the series but despaired on how slow it was. When I learned that the third book was much slower than this one, I abandoned any plans of reading it next. I thought reading The Dragon Keeper would be a change of pace but I have reread the first few pages three times without making progress. I will go back to Robin Hobb as soon as I have my steam back. 

2. Me Before You by Jojo Moyes – This confused me, there were too many elements: a romance, a coming-of-age, being a quadriplegic, assisted living. All of these were relevant but somehow there was a lack of overall cohesion. It was an okay read but this did not spark any interest in me to read other Jojo Moyes’ novels. 

3. Moon Called by Patricia Briggs – At this point I was desperate for anything to get me out of my reading slump. I saw this in the Vaginal Fantasy August pick forum. This is an urban fantasy with werewolves, vampires, gremlins, etc. I whizzed through this book but Kate Daniels is still my favorite urban fantasy. No plans to read the next of the series but I am looking out for another urban fantasy.

4. Relish: My Life in the Kitchen by Lucy Knisley – This was in my TBR for a long time. I read this twice and usually stopped somewhere in the middle. Last Sunday I picked it up again and finished it within the day. I enjoyed this one. My first introduction to Lucy Knisley was her graphic novel French Milk.

5. Light on Life by B.K.S. Iyengar – This has to be one of the best books on yoga’s eight petals/limbs. It is a short but very dense book, each word, sentence and paragraph has a purpose. A lot of ideas went over my head, no wonder I had a lot of headaches while reading it. This is a book that needs to be read more than once. I am glad that I finished this before the month ended.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

