Restless

January 25, 2016

1995 Version of Persuasion

Filed under: Film — Tags: — rvchua @ 1:25 am

Persuasion1995coverThe 2007 version of Persuasion is one of the films I watch when I feel sad. My favorite scene is when Anne Elliot and Captain Wentworth meet again, he barely acknowledges her. Then we see Anne crying while writing on her diary. However I hate the ending when Anne runs all over Bath looking for Wentworth and that awkward kiss in the street!

I have seen before the earlier 1995 version with Ciaran Hinds and Amanda Root. Last night I watched it again and was able to appreciate it better. This version is less polished and more subdued. Wentworth’s clothes are grimy when they are shooting pheasants. Anne’s clothes are plain and simple but they are better than the odious ones in the 2007 version. I am starting to think the Ciaran Hinds is the better Wentworth though Rupert Penry-Jones looks dashing in his costume. My favorite scene is Wentworth writing the letter while listening to Anne and Captain Harville talk about the constancy of a woman’s love. Wentworth reads out loud off camera, “You pierce my soul. I am half agony, half hope.” Oh my!

Interesting to note is that Anne’s sister Mary is played by Sophie Thompson who is the sister of Emma Thompson who starred and wrote the screenplay for 1995’s Sense and Sensibility. Also, Sophie Thompson is married to Richard Lumsden who played Robert Ferrars in the 1995 Sense and Sensibility. Victoria Hamilton who plays Henrietta Musgrove has also appeared as Mrs. Foster in the 1995 Pride and Prejudice and Maria Bertram in the 1999 Mansfield Park.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

