Restless

February 1, 2016

Books I Have Read (January 2016)

Filed under: Books — Tags: — rvchua @ 12:15 am

1. Timeless by Gail Carriger – I dawdled before starting this and I finished it in two nights. It was wonderful to be back in the world of The Parasol Protectorate. Since I did not read book 4 Heartless, I didn’t know that Professor Lyall is gay and was a lover of Alexia’s father. Also, Ivy is now an an actress, married and with twins. Alexia and Conall’s child is a metanatural and has been adopted by Lord Akeldama.And a mummy is a dead preternatural? There are other Gail Carriger books but I haven’t come across copies so far.

2. Magnus Chase and The Gods of Asgard Book 1: The Summer Sword by Rick Riordan – When I saw the movie Percy Jackson I found it too juvenile so I had no inkling to read the book. However when Magnus Chase came out, I heard a few good reviews from several booktubers. I am glad that I picked up this quick, enjoyable and funny book. The book is YA but it doesn’t feel like it though I know the main protagonist is an adolescent. The book mentions about the two Thor movies and Odin, Loki and Thor appears in the book as well. Odin is a PowerPoint obsessed All-Father while Thor uses Mjolnir to get HD reception of his favorite tv shows which include Sherlock and Game of Thrones! If they ever make this into a movie, it would be cool if Tom Hiddleston plays Loki. Magnus goes into a quest with a hajib-wearing ex-Valkyrie, a fashion conscious dwarf and a deaf elf. The book is fast paced and funny (you can do Bikram Yoga to the Death in Valhalla). It has been a while since I read a book whose main character I did not hate. The second book is set for release later this year.

3. The Almost Nearly Perfect People: Behind the Myth of the Scandinavian Utopia by Michael Booth – This was an informative look on how the world looks at Denmark, Iceland, Norway, Finland and Sweden versus the reality. There were parts that were funny but I got confused when it started to talk about politics & economics. I am still confused which country is which: Denmark (former conqueror), Iceland (Bjork), Norway (hit the oil jackpot), Finland (Santa Claus & reindeers) and Sweden (Abba). Among the Nordic countries, I think Iceland has the most appeal with its dramatic landscapes (Noah, Interstellar, Game of Thrones, Prometheus, Thor: The Dark World). Also, I think it is time to read up on Scandinavian royalty.

4. Still Life by Louise Penny – I picked this up because Modern Mrs. Darcy keeps mentioning it in her blog. I whizzed through the first half of the book but I got lazy afterwards. I liked it but I was not totally immersed with it. However, I will read the next 2 books before I decide whether to continue with the series or not.

5. A Fatal Grace by Louise Penny – Another okay read from the series. I am going to read the third book still in the hopes that I will eventually love it.

6. The Cruelest Month by Louise Penny – Again another quick read. Thankfully they closed the side story about Gamache’s old case. Also, why do they have wonderful descriptions of food?

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

