Restless

February 26, 2016

Loving Pilates

Filed under: Pilates, Yoga — Tags: , — rvchua @ 12:52 am

I did it! I enrolled for 8 one-on-one pilates sessions! Don’t ask me how much because thinking about the amount makes me weep like a mad woman.

This month I joined two mat pilates class with Glenna at the Yoga Yachtclub Mactan. I really enjoyed it because it wasn’t too taxing but a lot of unused muscles were working. I heard that there was an equipment-based pilates at City Sports Club Cebu so I asked for details. They told me to book for a trial class which I had last Saturday and I was immediately hooked. Yesterday was my first paid class.

I want to lessen yoga for the next couple of months. I still have pain on my right wrist (planks & chaturangas are torture) and my left shoulder (I can’t do any binds). Right now I have a love-hate relationship with yoga. I make up excuses to not go to class. Easy postures like triangle are painful and exhausting. However in the end I am happy that I went to class.

Now I am in a weird mood wherein I want to get away from work and the world. So I don’t have plans to join any camps or workshops or trainings. Also I don’t want to teach a class. If I want to do yoga, I will only do it at the yacht club. No more studio hopping.

I am thoroughly enjoying pilates now. I like the one-on-one approach and the focus on the right alignment and posture. I am learning a lot and I am trying to fix the bad habits that I continue to do even in yoga. Also I don’t need new gear for pilates except for socks and I have gone back to using my Converse long pants. I don’t sweat that much in pilates because the studio is air conditioned.

The downside of pilates is the price but then if I am going to enjoy my money before I die then this is one of the best ways to use it. Also this means minimizing expense in other areas like expensive coffee and eating out. I will have to wait for my iPad mini to conk out before I buy a new one. So this means no Loki toy (P599.75) and H&M laundry bag (P899) that I saw yesterday at the mall.

Book for a trial class at Pilates Fit Cebu. They also have group and mat classes.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

