Restless

March 29, 2016

Books I Have Read (March 2016)

Filed under: Uncategorized — Tags: — rvchua @ 4:17 am
  1. Better Than Before: Mastering the Habits of Our Everyday Lives by Gretchen Rubin – This was a better and more enlightening book than Rubin’s first one (The Happiness Project). I want to read this again so that I can find ways to change my habit of eating junk food. Overall an interesting book and hopefully I can make of good use in the near future
  2. Up and Down Stairs: The History of the Country House Servant by Jeremy Musson – Picking up this book was a no-brainer especially with my love for Downton Abbey and Lucy Worsley’s History of the Home.
  3. A Rule Against Murder by Louise Penny – Another quick read while I take a break from all the non-fiction. Gamache and his squad is the most-well fed murder investigators in literary fiction! Surprisingly I liked this a bit better than the previous three books. Maybe it was the complicated family dynamics of the Morrows?
  4. The Brutal Telling by Louise Penny – I found the ending a bit confusing, was that really it? Still, I am planning to read the rest of the Three Pines books that I have on hand, three more to go!
  5. Bury Your Dead by Louise Penny – A continuation of the previous murder, a terrorist attack and a murder steeped in the first settlement of Quebec. The series has finally started to pick up with book four though the last one’s ending confused me but then was finally explained in this one!
  6. A Trick of the Light by Louise Penny – I liked this a bit less than the last one but very good character development in Beauvoir. I am only one book away from completing this series.
  7. The Beautiful Mystery by Louise Penny – This is the last book that I have from the series. I was a bit annoyed with Gamache and Beauvoir here, I know that they had zero religious background but there were times they came off as superior to the monks. I am sorely tempted to only give 3 stars to all the books in the series. All of them were quick reads and has improved by the fourth book but I don’t have any desire to read these again.
  8. Illuminae by Amie Kaufman – I came across a lot of youtubers loving this book. It was a YA book that used of transcripts of instant messages, memos, etc. to convey the story. However the book was just an amalgam of tropes that worked well but wasn’t enticing for me to care about the sequel. It is Battlestar Galactica meets 2001: A Space Oddysey meets Hackers.
Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

