Restless

July 1, 2016

Books I Have Read (June 2016)

Filed under: Books — Tags: — rvchua @ 4:46 am

1. Night Film by Marisha Pessel – This felt like an overlong movie that just went on and on. I wished the book ended 200 pages earlier. The story was interesting but it kept jumping from a mystery to something supernatural. I didn’t care for the main character or his ‘sidekicks’. I wanted to DNF the book but stuck around for the mystery thus I gave it a higher rating.

2. Wellth: How I Learned to Build a Life not a Resume by Jason Wachob – I am a regular reader of mindbodygreen so the concepts presented in this book who is also the founder of the website are familiar. When I read online I only focus on a couple of aspects of wellth but now I think I should be more aware of my gut and have massages as part of my wellbeing.

3. The More of Less: Finding the Life You Want Under Everything You Own by Joshua Becker – This is another book based from a website which I have been reading for years. Frankly nothing new to separate it from Becoming Minimalist but I still enjoyed reading it during downtime at work.

4. Lab Girl by Hope Jahren – Vibrant writing on the quirky life of a scientist and her assistant. I though the book would be dry but the overall feeling is like being inside a tropical jungle.

5. How To Be a Tudor: A Dawn-to-Dusk Guide to Tudor Life by Ruth Goodman – A very in-depth book of the extraordinary lives of ordinary people during the Tudor era. However there are parts that are better seen than read.

6. Breath of Bones: A Tale of the Golem by Steve Niles – This was a short, unspectacular story of a golem during World War II.

7. Giant Days Vol 1 by John Allison – A group of friends in college. The characters were interesting and the graphics were lively but I think this is geared for young adults.

8. The Imperfect Environmentalist: A Practical Guide to Clearing Your Body, Detoxing Your Home, and Saving the Earth (Without Losing Your Mind) by Sara Gilbert – Everyone can use this reading this once in a while. I wonder if Gina Lopez has read this. I hope that she implements changes that are applicable to ordinary people when she starts her work at DENR.

9. Grit: Passion, Perseverance and the Science of Success by Angela Duckworth – I wished my parents read this when I was young. I wished I read this when I was in college. The topic was interesting but I wasn’t into the writing style and how it was organized.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

