Restless

August 7, 2011

Jane Eyre

Filed under: Books, Film — rvchua @ 9:37 am

Jane Eyre was the first novels that I read, I was probably 11 or 12 at that time. I fell in love with it immediately and read several times then. However since I have become older, I am no longer enamored with the story. I find the 20+ years age difference difficult to understand and I find Rochester’s treatment towards Jane cruel. I would understand Jane falling in love with Rochester but for Rochester to fall in love with her with all his sophistication and experiences? It is been a while since I read the book or maybe because I prefer Jane Austen to Charlotte Bronte. I may also have been exposed to a lot of historical romances all these years.

Previous to Cary Fukunaga’s Jane Eyre, the only other adaptation that I have seen is the 2006 BBC tv adaptation which was also very good. As for the 2011 film, I love the stark settings (even Gateshead Hall’s riches had an austere look). I know that Mia Wasikowska is the lead but my eyes were only for Michael Fassbender who is a wonderful Rochester but too handsome for the role. He was the best part of Inglorious Basterds, mesmerizing in Jonah Hex and outstanding as Magneto in X-Men: First Class. I liked that the film was not a gothic version but the ending ended abruptly (for me).

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a comment